How it all began

My archery adventure began in 2010, not long after I’d been injured in a road traffic accident. I was competing in Wheelpower’s annual Inter Spinal Unit games and it was the first time I’d been able to try lots of new sports that I could do in my wheelchair. I didn’t expect to be any good at archery but, as it turned out, I was! In fact, I ended up winning 1st place. You can still see a tiny photo of me on the Wheelpower homepage that was taken during that event 🙂wheelpower

I didn’t really have a chance to do much archery after that as I was focussing on getting back to work and living life. But then last year, I had a wonderful day out with a charity called Sportability where I got to do some archery and quadbiking. Remembering just how much fun I had doing it was exactly the kick I needed to look for a club to join. So, I found a club in Kent and bought my first bow.

Earlier this year, things stepped up a gear (or ten!) when I was accepted onto a fast-track talent programme with Archery GB. Since then, I’ve gone from shooting a Portsmouth round once a fortnight to shooting hundreds of arrows a week. I’ll be sharing my experiences as I train to make the GB para team and aim for gold.

